Repost: Nobody’s Coming To Get US/Liquid

by pronounced "ahhh" like a sigh

I read an article about a man who refuses to leave New Orleans without his wife’s body. He’s accepted that she’s dead but won’t leave until he finds her. This was written in the voice of his  wife pleading with him to go but letting him know that she’s still with him.

Part of the Katrina series and inspired by hundreds of spouses searching for their loved ones after Hurricane Katrina

Collect the salt of our memories
The heat of summer
A river across brown
Sepia
Toffee
earth
It’s Tuesday
Wear this goodbye
Liquid against your chest
Your heart a shallow rhythm
My lips a soft echo beneath breath
I miss your face
Wish to
Place gentle against scruff
and inhale
The line that forms your chin
cheeks
Mouth
Nose
Eyes
Connect the parts that create you
Teach me and I will build for you a new
Everything
smile
And I remember how well you wore this
Your name
Crocheted on scarves tightly woven
With concern
Compassion
something
I think about whether your neck gets cold
Are you hungry, love?
I know you miss me
See your eyes cast down and
I want to own you again
Tell you that I’m okay
That I live in shadows
Hollow
Music
echoes
It’s only better here because I can see you
Touch you
In the form of a breeze that lifts and tousles
Leave the body
Remember only the movement
See me as you do the promise of spring
Damp
Pretend that with me brittle things bud
thrive
not yet ready to grow
or go
Do not long for me
It’s okay
Believe it
Wear this goodbye like a talisman
Like my jeweled whisper
Like yesterday
My salted memory
bare skin
This new river
liquid
like good bye

it’s okay…

